Fr / En

Projects

Here’s a short list of projects on which I spend some of my free time. Most are made with my favourite tools, those I know the most: C++ and boost. As they are side-projects, they aren’t subjects to deadlines and explicit specifications; which is the reason why there are also a showcase for my two weaknesses: over-design and NIH syndrome.

Over-design is the reason why most of those projects are libraries. When facing a specific problem, I usually find it more interesting to try to solve the whole class of similar problems and write a small generic library to do it. The downside of this “perfectionist” approach is of course that it slows down everything…

My taste for NIH is the result of both my will to understand how things work and my “disdain” for anything not in the standard library of my current language (boost being the exception). For instance, when working on an old GUI-related project, I rewrote my own wrappers around libpng and libjpeg


MML

A Minimalistic Maths Library.

The MML was born as a collection of various maths tools that I needed at some point in some of my projects. It is now a rather unified library that focuses on fundamental 2D shapes.

It is a “headers only” library, as it relies on templates / macros to decide what types to use for value storage and for intermediate computations, and what relational operations to use on them.


MCL

A Minimalistic Color Library.

The idea of the MCL came from the need to have tools to interpolate colors and to convert back and forth from rgb and hsl. It went a bit further than that and now handles eight different color spaces, endomorphic color transformations, perceived color distance computations…


SAW

(Yet another) Sqlite3 API Wrapper.

Faced with the need to write some code using sqlite3’s C API, I’ve procrastinated the real task at hand by writing a C++ library wrapping it.

The goal of this small library is NOT to hide sqlite3’s API; if it aimed to do so, it would be far more complicated than it already is. Its goal is simply to facilitate some common sqlite3 tasks, such as managing database connections and statements. All wrapped structures such as Database and Statement provide access to the raw data that lies beneath.


MWL

  • Active development
  • TBA

A Minimalistic Widgets Library.

The MWL is my attempt at reinventing the GUI wheel. Based on a prior attempt to create a GUI library for OpenGL projects, it is now a renderer-agnostic library. It provides objects, behaviour and entry points, but it is up to the user of the library to translate external input and to decide how to render each element.


Stream

  • On hold
  • TBA

A tower defense game with adaptive enemy behavior.

The game is centered around the notion of enemy “personality”: each enemy adapts its behavior and path according to its goal, its personality, its mood… Development is currently on hold, but there’s already a proof of concept on Youtube, please see below.


Zolver

A Robozzle solver.

Having spent a lot of time on Robozzle, a fun programming game, we decided with a friend to try and write a piece of software that would solve the levels for us. We knew it was probably a NP problem, but why would that stop us? The project is unfinished and abandoned, but it almost works (although rather slowly, as expected).

Fr / En

Projets

Ici sont répertoriés quelques uns des différents projets auxquels je consacre du temps. Sans mention explicite du contraire, il s’agit de projets utilisant mes outils de prédilection : C++ et boost. Comme il s’agit de projets développés sur mon temps libre, ils ne sont pas soumis à des deadlines ou à des impératifs extérieurs ; en conséquence de quoi ils sont bien souvent le reflet de mes deux travers majeurs : une tendance à l’over-design et un certain goût pour le syndrome du NIH.

L’over-design est d’ailleurs la raison pour laquelle ces projets sont pour la plupart des bibliothèques : confronté à un problème précis, je trouve généralement plus intéressant de réfléchir à comment résoudre toute la classe de problèmes similaires et d’écrire une solution générique. C’est bien sûr une forme de perfectionnisme qui a tendance à allonger considérablement le temps de développement de certains projets…

Mon goût pour le NIH relève quant à lui de ma volonté de comprendre comment fonctionnent les choses ainsi que d’une certaine répugnance à dépendre de bibliothèques qui ne sont pas dans le standard du langage que j’utilise (boost étant la grande exception à cette règle). Pour un de mes projets, j’avais ainsi recodé mes propres wrappers autour de la libpng et de la libjpeg


MML

Une bibliothèque mathématique minimaliste (Minimalistic Maths Library).

La MML a commencé son existence comme la simple agrégation des diverses fonctions mathématiques dont j’avais eu un jour besoin. C’est devenu désormais une bibliothèque cohérente, qui se concentre sur la notion de formes géométriques 2D.

C’est une bibliothèque uniquement composée de headers, car elle utilise templates et macros pour atteindre ses objectifs de généricité, notamment pour décider quels types de données manipuler.


MCL

Une bibliothèque de couleur minimaliste (Minimalistic Color Library).

À l’origine de la MCL, il y a l’envie et le besoin d’avoir un outil pour faire de l’interpolation de couleur et pour convertir de rgb à hsl et vice-versa. La bibliothèque va un peu plus loin et gère huit espaces de couleur distincts, des transformations de couleur endomorphiques, des fonctions de calcul de distance perceptible entre deux couleurs…


SAW

Une surcouche au dessus de l’API sqlite3 (Sqlite3 API Wrapper).

Ayant eu besoin d’écrire du code manipulant l’API C de sqlite3, j’ai préféré procrastiner le code que je devais écrire et créer à la place une surcouche en C++.

Le but de cette petite bibliothèque n’est pas d’intégralement remplacer l’API C ; ce serait bien trop fastidieux, compliqué et, honnêtement, inutile. Non, son but est simplement d’utiliser des fonctionnalités du C++ pour simplifier certaines tâches, comme gérer la durée de vie d’une connexion à une base de donnée ou la génération d’une requête.


MWL

  • En développement
  • À préciser

Une bibliothèque minimaliste de widgets (Minimalistic Widgets Library).

La MWL est ma roue réinventée en matière d’IHM. Inspirée d’un précédent projet visant à créer une bibliothèque de widgets pour mes projets OpenGL, la MWL est maintenant une bibliothèque “agnostique”. Elle fournit des widgets, implémente leur comportement, définit des points d’entrée… mais c’est à l’utilisateur de transmettre les inputs extérieurs ou de gérer l’affichage des widgets.


Stream

  • En pause
  • À préciser

Un jeu de “tower defense” dans lequel les ennemis ont un comportement adaptatif.

Tout le jeu est construit autour des “personnalités” des ennemis : chaque ennemi adapte son comportement et son chemin en fonction de son but, sa personnalité, son humeur… Le développement est pour l’instant en pause, mais une vidéo démontrant le concept est déjà sur Youtube. (c.f. ci-dessous)


Zolver

Un résolveur pour Robozzle.

Ayant beaucoup joué à Robozzle, un jeu de programmation assez génial, un ami et moi avons décider d’écrire un programme qui pourrait résoudre les niveaux pour nous. Nous avions bien conscience de la difficulté du problème (probablement NP), mais ce n’était pas suffisant pour nous empêcher d’essayer. Le projet n’est pas vraiment fini mais vraiment abandonné, bien qu’il soit à peu près fonctionnel (et très lent, comme on pouvait s’y attendre).